Archive

Archive for March 6, 2010

K.I.S.S. NOKIA N900

March 6, 2010 2 comments

K.I.S.S. – KEEP IT SHORT & SIMPLE – N900 REVIEW

Everybody who knows me knows that the only device I would ever use for telecommunication is a Nokia, irrespective of whether it is a Nokia 5110 or a Nokia N900, it just has to be a Nokia. So when I got my hands on to the most powerful Nokia device known to man(Nokia N900) I was more than elated to express how it made go on a high. Though it was too short lived as just 7 exact minutes for Greek God of mobile phone’s doesn’t count at all but it was worthwhile as something is better than nothing. When I was handing the Nokia N900 back to my friend,the same line was going on in my head for which I was famous at s60 blogs when Kristina Ferrari & Raj Unny always used to refer my name with this line- ” Why do all good things come to an end?”

I wish had got more time to do R&D on Nokia N900 as its not available in India that I could have bought it and reviewed it but I am going to share whatever I could get grasp in those 7 minutes.

Here it goes:

K.I.S.S. N900 Pros:

  1. It’s a Nokia
  2. Maemo the future platform of Mobile OS
  3. ARM Cortex A8 600MHz CPU, PowerVR SGX graphics accelerator; 256 MB of RAM
  4. Contacts integration of Skype, Google Talk and other VoIP services
  5. WMV/RealVideo/MP4/AVI/XviD/DivX video player
  6. State-of-the-art Mozilla-based web browser with Adobe Flash 9.4 support
  7. 5 MP, 2576×1936 pixels, Carl Zeiss optics, autofocus, Dual LED flash, video
  8. 3.5″ 16M-color resistive touchscreen of WVGA (800 x 480 pixel) resolution
  9. The Paranormic wallpapers are to die for
  10. FM Radio receiver, FM transmitter

K.I.S.S. N900 Cons:

  1. Not officially available in India yet
  2. No voice recorder, no MMS, and no handwriting recognition
  3. No smart and voice dialing
  4. Large and heavy
  5. Limited application availability
  6. Till more Maemo developers come in the league – its only going to be liked by Nokia fanatics or techies
  7. Resistive touch screen makes it hard to compete with the likes of Iphone and Nexus One
  8. Only available in Black colour
  9. Not enough integration with Ovi services
  10. Cant be updated to Maemo OS 6.0 in the future

I dont have more to share as its supposed to be a K.I.S.S. Review  but I promise to do a more in depth review of the Nokia N900 once I get it for review from some source(WOMworld,S60 etc) or once it officially available in India.

P.S. : For all those who don’t know about my phone’s – http://nikhilchawla.wordpress.com/my-phones/